Monday, January 25, 2010

Progressive Panel clean sweeps elections of Kashmir Journalist Forum

ISLAMABAD: Progressive Panel led by Sardar Abid Khurshid swept elections of Kashmir Journalists Forum, representing Kashmir journalist of three parts of Jammu and Kashmir State for 2010-11. Chairman of Election Committee, Sardar Ashiq Hussain announced the final results of elections. The polling ratio was 85.23 percent and over 175 journalists including Bahsir Hussain, Raja Asghar, Mushtaq Minhas cast their vote.
Abid Khursheed of progressive panel got 113 votes and elected as president while Muqaddar Hussain Shah gained 112 votes, Zahid Abbasi 117 and elected as senior vice president. Ghulam Ullah Kiyani elected as Vice President by obtaining 120 votes. Zahid Abbasi got 117 votes and elected as General Sectary , Ashfaq Ahmed Mughal got 84 votes and elected as Joint Sectary, Arif Chaudhry with 117 elected as Organizer while Umar Farooq with 116 votes elected as Deputy Organizer.
Progressive Panel also won seven seats of Governing Body. Anjum Aqeel gained 112 votes, Shehzad Gul 109, Sardar Qamar Nadeem 109, Sardar Ibrar 108, Akhlaq Khan 96, Hasan Hayat 89, and Muhammad Attiq obtained 87 votes. After counting of votes a ceremony was held between night of Saturday and Sunday at Press club Rawalpindi in which chairman election Sardar Ashiq Hussain announced the results.
Newly elected President Abid Khursheed said that he would take several steps to give scholarships to members of forum in educational institutes in order to promote their professional efficiency. He said that a high level coordination organization would be established under the supervision of Raja Bashir Usmani. Former president Shaukat Malik also announced to prepare a website of forum. Presidential candidate of journalist Panel Bashir Usmani congratulated Abid Khursheed and his panel and said that both groups of Kashmir journalist forum are united and there are no differences between them. Both groups accepted the election results and vowed to work together. Newly elected sectary general Zahid Abbasi, chairman organizing committee for election Abdul Shakoor Khan, member election committee Aziz Malik and others also addressed on the occasion.

No comments:

Post a Comment